You are here

Find the answers to some frequently asked questions about the First Home Owner Grant (FHOG) for regional Victoria:

  1. What is the $20,000 FHOG?
  2. What is a new home?
  3. What is regional Victoria?
  4. What are the key dates I need to know?
  5. What types of home/construction qualify?
  6. Who qualifies?

1. What is the $20,000 FHOG?

The First Home Owner Grant (FHOG) is a $10,000 payment available to eligible first-home buyers who buy or build their new home valued up to $750,000.

There is an increased $20,000 payment for first-home buyers who buy or build their new home valued up to $750,000 in regional Victoria

2. What is a new home?

A new home includes:

  1. A newly built home,
  2. An existing property being sold for the first time as a new residence,
  3. A land and building package, or
  4. Vacant land on which you will build a new home.

All first-home buyers in metropolitan Melbourne and regional Victoria must meet all FHOG eligibility criteria.

3. What is regional Victoria? 

Regional Victoria means the following regional councils and the six alpine resorts of Mt Baw Baw, Mt Buller, Mt Hotham, Mt Stirling, Falls Creek and Lake Mountain. 

Table of regional Victorian councils

Regional councils A-G Regional councils G-M Regional councils M-Y
Alpine Shire Council Greater Geelong City Council Murrindindi Shire Council
Ararat Rural City Council Greater Shepparton City Council Northern Grampians Shire Council
Ballarat City Council Hepburn Shire Council Pyrenees Shire Council
Bass Coast Shire Council Hindmarsh Shire Council Borough of Queenscliffe
Baw Baw Shire Council Horsham Rural City Council South Gippsland Shire Council
Benalla Rural City Council Indigo Shire Council Southern Grampians Shire Council
Buloke Shire Council Latrobe City Council Strathbogie Shire Council
Campaspe Shire Council Loddon Shire Council Surf Coast Shire Council
Central Goldfields Shire Council Macedon Ranges Shire Council Swan Hill Rural City Council
Colac Otway Shire Council Mansfield Shire Council Towong Shire Council
Corangamite Shire Council Mildura Rural City Council Wangaratta Rural City Council
East Gippsland Shire Council Mitchell Shire Council Warrnambool City Council
Gannawarra Shire Council Moira Shire Council Wellington Shire Council
Glenelg Shire Council Moorabool Shire Council West Wimmera Shire Council
Golden Plains Shire Council Mount Alexander Shire Council Wodonga City Council
Greater Bendigo City Council Moyne Shire Council Yarriambiack Shire Council

4. What are the key dates I need to know? 

The date your contract to buy or build your new home is signed is the key date. Settlement date is irrelevant.

The $20,000 FHOG is applicable to:

  1. Contracts entered into from 1 July 2017 to 30 June 2020 for the purchase of a new home in regional Victoria,
  2. Comprehensive home building contracts entered into from 1 July 2017 to 30 June 2020 by the owner of land wholly in regional Victoria, or a person who on completion of the contract will be the owner of land wholly in regional Victoria, to have a home built on the land, and
  3. The building of a home wholly in regional Victoria if the building work starts between 1 July 2017 and 30 June 2020 inclusive.

If you are entitled to the FHOG but signed a contract for a first home in regional Victoria before 1 July 2017, you are not eligible for the $20,000 payment, even if you settled on or after 1 July 2017. This is also the case if your contract was signed before 1 July 2017 and you are subsequently nominated as a substitute purchaser. However, you are still eligible for the $10,000 FHOG.

5. What types of home/construction qualify?

The eligible transaction can be a contract for:

  • The purchase of a new residential premises, which can be a newly built home or premises being sold as new residential premises for the first time,
  • A comprehensive home building contract, or
  • The construction of a home by an owner builder.

6. Who qualifies?

You will qualify if:

  • You purchase or build a new home wholly in regional Victoria,
  • Your contract is signed on or after 1 July 2017 and no later than 30 June 2020, and
  • You meet all the other eligibility criteria.

Owner builders who start building their home wholly in regional Victoria between 1 July 2017 and 30 June 2020 who meet all other FHOG eligibility criteria also qualify.